Adding VB/VBA Support

May 25, 2016 at 5:48 AM
So I primarily program in VBA (and am starting to dabble in VB.net). I was amazed this doesnt support either (or at least VB.net). I will be the first to admit I am not a pro programmer and have an extremely minimal understanding of C#

After looking in the source code I realized that this addin uses another program to actually handle the syntax highlighting called "highlight.exe". The addin calls this via CLI and passes arguments to it to specify what language and style to use. Its worth mention that this program has a standalone version that can be used manually outside the addin. I highly recommend downloading it and installing as we will need 2x files from it *more on this later

What further surprises me is that there are some mentions of VB in the source code. For example in the "CodeForm.cs" (in the "NoteHighLightForm" folder/node), there is a case statement that refers to VB/VBNET.

So I realized that the addin uses highlight.exe to syntax highlight and then performs some sort of conversion on its results as html to convert it into text with formatting that OneNote will accept (because why in the world would a program like OneNote be able to handle various text/formatting /sarcasm). The conversion from html to OneNote acceptable text doesnt care what language we use as the highlight basis.

Highlight.exe has configuration files for each language (.lang) and configuration files for each editor (.theme). These are essentially text files that store the parameters of the rules for the languages highlighting and what colors to use for them.

This led me to 2 ideas:
  1. Long term it should be relatively easy for someone to add the button for the VB/VBA language to the ribbon, update the required files (*this is the area I am least qualified for), and add the required language file...then repackage the installer.